The struggles of a blogger

Before we talk about how great this outfit I styled is (wink wink), I wanted to touch on a few things that have been getting on my nerves lately. Now I’m sure if you are a blogger and just happen to be under the age of 18 or possibly older, that you will agree with at least some of what I have to say.

Blogging for me isn’t just a hobby, essentially it’s a job and it has been for the past 2 years.  Of course, I’ve had to have other jobs as well but really the aim for me is to make blogging my main job/career path.

Running an Instagram account for the past two years as a job has been tricky, of course. And tbh, It’s not the glamorous, amazing lifestyle or ideal job its first perceived to be. I’m pretty fed up of people telling me that I do nothing, all I do is take a picture and get free things. I guess to the normal outsider that’s all you can see but in reality, I put a lot of time and effort into choosing an outfit suitable for a blog post, to then have to find a place that compliments my outfit to take photographs in. Not only that but I take a lot of time writing out each caption ensuring that it is different from the last. Not to mention the hours I spend brainstorming and writing blog posts. And not only do I put in a lot of work but I’m constantly being shut down, it’s happened countless times by both companies and followers. Not only do I put in a lot of work but I’m constantly being shut down, it’s happened countless times by both companies and followers, and it’s difficult to hold it together all the time and pretend that it doesn’t affect me.

Not only do I put in a lot of work but I’m constantly being shut down, it’s happened countless times by both companies and followers, and it’s difficult to hold it together all the time and pretend that it doesn’t affect me.

Being a blogger has given me many insecurities and well, maybe it doesn’t seem that way because let’s be honest, my job is to take pictures of myself, but this is really how I feel. A lot of people think that it’s okay to be rude on your photo because you have ‘lots of followers’ and you ‘won’t see it’ when in reality I see and read almost every comment that I get. Buy hey, I guess I can’t moan because it’s made me the person I am today, and I can’t help but hope and wish that there are lots in store for me as I grow up.

Now I’ll touch on the part about how I personally think that blogging is more difficult for the young. Being a young blogger, just fifteen when I started my professional Instagram page, and still only seventeen now, means that a lot of opportunities go to waste, whether I can’t make it because of my age or whether I am uninvited or not considered because of my age, it seems to me like age discrimination is a common response from a lot of companies. If I’m honest, sometimes I wish companies wouldn’t mess me around and would just say straight out that they don’t want to work with me, it would definitely save me a lot of time and effort and upset. I also personally feel that because a lot of successful bloggers are a lot older than me I feel embarrassed to attend events as I’m usually the youngest there. I can’t be the only one…right?

I’m not too sure where this post went, I’m pretty sure I just blabbered on and on, but I hope it was entertaining either way. Anyway,let’s get started on this outfit…

img_7570img_7575

The outfits pretty simple, it’s a street style piece, and I loved sporting it. At first, I think I’m drawn to the t-shirt… EYE SEE YOU… It was an impulse buy I made in London a couple of years ago. And continues to be one of the best things I’ve ever bought. As its bloody freezing at the moment, I layered it over my simple and gray Marks and Spencer turtle neck.

I think the yellow door was also a great find, I’d love to return and photograph a really wacky outfit in front of it.

img_7648

Details: Details and accessories are so important in outfits and they are something I never really think about when I’m creating or photographing outfits. Anyway, the accessories I remembered to include are my sammydress ring and charity shop belt, I’m pretty sure they sell similar ones on Asos if you like it!!

img_7662img_7664

I really like the contrast of the patterns on the t-shirt and trousers. I think sometimes you need to have a little bit of a contrast in your outfits and for me, this worked perfectly.

img_7669img_7559img_7667

Shop my outfit-

t-shirt: Cheapmonday  (I don’t think they have this top in stores anymore but you can search for similar items if you like it!!)

Turtle-neck: M&S

trousers: Vintage

Socks: Slazenger (from sports direct) £3.50 for 10!!!

Shoes: K-Swiss

Jacket: @Blitzlondon on Instagram

Hoodie: Nike

Thanks for reading, even if it really didn’t make sense. It would be great to hear what you guys think!!

Molly xx

2 thoughts on “The struggles of a blogger

  1. Absolutely love this! I completely understand, and I’m so amazed that you’ve been doing this for two years already! Wish I had started younger, I’d love to be able to call my blog my job, but I’m just starting!

    Like

Leave a comment